Personal tools
You are here: Home Subject Guides Quick Reference Sources
 

Quick Reference Sources

Document Actions


Books | Databases| Websites


Books

The library's reference book collection is located next to the textbooks, to the left of the library desk. Call numbers for reference books begin with "REF." The reference collection includes dictionaries and encyclopedias, core art history textbooks, and resources about artists and art movements.

 

Databases

To access the following databases from home, contact the library for a username and password.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (via EBSCOhost)
Provides more than 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

World Almanac (via FirstSearch)
Includes articles from Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U. S. Politics, and The World Almanac for Kids.

 

Websites


General Reference

InfoPlease

Internet Public Library

Refdesk.com

Yahoo! Reference

Virtual Reference Shelf


Biographies

Biography.com

Presidents of the United States

The Biographical Dictionary

Dead People Server


Country Studies

Background Notes from the U.S. State Department

CIA World Factbook

Library of Congress Country Studies


Dictionaries and Thesauri

OneLook Dictionaries
Searches a number of online dictionaries at one time.

Bartleby.com

Lexicool
A directory of over 500 translation dictionaries and glossaries.

Dictionary.com

Thesaurus.com


Encyclopedias

Bartleby.com

Encyclopedia of Life
Information about and images of animals, plants, etc.


Historical Resources

Culture 4.0 Historical Maps

HyperHistory Online
Presents 3,000 years of world history in a combination of lifelines, timelines and maps.


Maps and Atlases

Mapquest

WorldAtlas.com

All the World's Maps

Yahoo! Maps

Google Maps


Phone Books

Yahoo! People Search

Anywho


Quotations/Speeches

Bartleby.com

History Place's Great Speeches Collection

LitQuotes

QuoteLand


Statistics

Statistical Abstracts of the United States
"The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States"

FEDSTATS
The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.

Statistical Resources on the Web

ERSys.com
Statistics and information about American cities.

 

Suggest a link or other resource to add to this guide

Resource Spotlight
 
Guggenheim


Guggenheim Archive
Free art ebooks!

Search the Library Catalog

Search the Web
Google