Personal tools
You are here: Home Resources Databases

Databases

Document Actions

The library subscribes to several collections of databases that can be used to find books, journal articles, images, and other resources. Many of these databases are accessible from off campus; contact the library for login and password information.

 

Database Collections

EBSCOhost

FirstSearch (click here for off-campus access)

LIRN (contact the library for an access code)

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)

Saskia Art Images (on-campus access only)

Harpweek (on-campus access only)

New Yorker digital archive



Resources by Collection/Vendor

 

EBSCOhost

To access the following databases from home, contact the library for a User ID and password.

Academic Search Premier
Offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, and ethnic studies. Provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.

MasterFILE Premier
Provides full text for nearly 1,750 general reference publications, including reference books, primary source documents, and images.

Business Source Elite
Provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications.

Regional Business News
Provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

ERIC
Contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

Health Source--Consumer Edition
Provides information on many health topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Features more than 130 full-text consumer health magazines.

Health Source--Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

Military & Government Collection
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, including periodicals, academic journals, and other content. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full-text television and radio news transcripts and selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Provides more than 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Professional Development Collection
Provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high-quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. Also contains more than 200 educational reports.

MAS Ultra--School Edition
Contains full text for nearly 500 popular high-school magazines, more than 350 full-text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps, and flags.

Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.

 

 

FirstSearch

To access the following databases from home, contact the library for an authorization number and password.

ArticleFirst
OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals.

Clase Periodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.

Ebooks
OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.

ECO
An OCLC collection of scholarly journals.

ERIC
Journal articles and reports in education.

GPO
U.S. government publications.

Illinois Catalog
OCLC catalog of materials in Illinois libraries.

MEDLINE
All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.

OAIster
Contains links to digital resources from open archive collections.

Papers First
OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Proceedings
OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings.

World Almanac
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs.

WorldCat
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

WorldCat Dissertations
A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat.

 

 

OCLC

To access the following database from home, contact the library for an authorization number and password.

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
Contains fine art and decorative art from prehistory through contemporary works. Includes high-resolution images of photos, paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings and watercolors, and more—plus audio-video and mixed media.

 

 

CARLI Digital Collections (selected digital image collections)

These resources are available only from on-campus computers.

Saskia Art Images Collection
Contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture, and architecture, as well as archaeological sites.

John Wesley Powell Collection of Pueblo Pottery
(Illinois Wesleyan University)
Over 100 specimens of pottery and a few wooden and basketry objects presented to Illinois Wesleyan University in the mid-1980s.

Swahili Expressive Arts Collection
(Illinois Wesleyan University)
Contains the work of Rebecca Gearhart, Ph.D., of the Sociology and Anthropology Department at Illinois Wesleyan University.

Ayer Art Collection
(Newberry Library)
Over 500 images of American Indian history and culture from the Library's world-renowned Ayer Collection.

Ethnographic Arts Collection
(Governor's State University)
Objects from various regions of the world, donated by former faculty, students, and patrons for art history and ethnic studies.

Sculpture Photographs Collection
(Governor's State University)
Photos of 26 works of sculpture from the Nathan Manilow Sculpture Park in University Park, IL.

Century of Progress World's Fair, 1933-1934
(University of Illinois at Chicago)
Publicity and other documentary photographs from the Century of Progress International Exposition, held in Chicago.

Great Lakes Collection
(Newberry Library)
Nearly 550 images of Illinois and the Great Lakes from the French period of exploration and settlement to the early 20th Century.

All CARLI Collections
View the full list of digital collections available through CARLI.

 

 

Alexander Street Press

This resource is available only from on-campus computers.

Harpweek
Searchable full-text electronic version of Harper's Weekly magazine from 1857 to 1912, including articles, illustrations, cartoons, and advertisements.

 

 

New Yorker

To access the following resource from on or off campus, contact the library for a user name and password.

New Yorker Digital Archive
Digital edition of the New Yorker's entire archive back to 1925, including covers, illustrations, and cartoons.

 

Search the Library Catalog

Resource Spotlight
 
Guggenheim


Guggenheim Archive
Free art ebooks!

Search the Web
Google