Personal tools
You are here: Home Subject Guides Cartooning and Comic Art
 

Cartooning and Comic Art

Document Actions


Books | Databases | Websites


Books

 

Comics and Cartooning History

Books about comics and cartooning are primarily located in the "PN" and "NC" sections of the library. All books listed below are located in the regular collection and may be checked out unless the call number begins with “REF.”

Benton, Mike. The Comic Book in America: An Illustrated History.
PN 6725 .B38 1989

Benton, Mike. Masters of the Imagination: The Comic Book Artists Hall of Fame.
NC 1305 .B46 1994

Couch, N.C. Christopher, and Weiner, Stephen. The Will Eisner Companion.
PN 6727 .E4 2004

Fisher, Edwin, Mort Gerberg, and Ron Wolin. The Art in Cartooning: Seventy-Five Years of American Magazine Cartoons.
NC 1426 1975

Horn, Maurice. 100 Years of American Newspaper Comics.
PN 6725 .A14 1996

Hurd, Jud. Cartoon Success Secrets: A Tribute to Thirty Years of Cartoonist Profiles.
PN 6710 .H87 2004

McCloud, Scott. Understanding Comics.
PN 6710 .M335 1993

Nelson, Roy Paul. Comic Art & Caricature.
NC 1320 .N383 1978

Raeburn, Daniel K. Chris Ware.
PN 6727 .W285Z7 2004

Raviv, Dan. Comic Wars: Marvel's Battle for Survival.
PN 6725 .R38 2004

 

Books on Drawing Comics or Cartoons

Books about drawing comics are located in the "NC" section of the library. All books listed below are located in the regular collection and may be checked out unless the call number begins with “REF.”

Akiyama, Yuko. Let's Draw Manga: Anime Shoujo Characters.
NC 1764.5 .J3A43 2005

Eisner, Will. Comics and Sequential Art.
NC 1764 .E47 2008

Eisner, Will. Graphic Storytelling and Visual Narrative.
PN 6710 .E57 2008

Hamm, Jack. Cartooning the Head and Figure.
NC 1320 1982

Hart, Christopher. How to Draw Comic Book Heroes and Villains.
NC 1764 .H37 1995

Hart, Christopher. Manga Mania: How to Draw Japanese Comics.
NC 1764.5 .J3 H37 2001

Warshaw, Jerry, Joyce Warshaw, and Elizabeth Warshaw. The Funny Drawing Book.
NC 1320 .W38 1978


Graphic Novels and Comics Collections

Graphic novels and collections of comics are primarily located in the library's Popular Reading collection; these books may be checked out. Books with call numbers that begin with “REF” are reference books or textbooks and must be used in the library.

Hornschemeier, Paul. Mother, Come Home.
POPULAR PN 6728 .F636 2003

Larson, Gary. Gary Larson’s The Curse of Madame “C.”
POPULAR NC 1429 .L32 1995

Larson, Gary. The PreHistory of the Far Side: A 10th Anniversary Exhibit.
POPULAR NC 1429 .L32 A4 1989

Legrand, Tardi. Roach Killer.
POPULAR NC 1992

Moore, Alan, and Kevin O'Neill. The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen. Vol. 1, 1898.
POPULAR PN 6727 . M664 2000

Satrapi, Marjane. The Complete Persepolis.
PN 6747 .S245 P4713 2007

Spiegelman, Art. Maus I: A Survivor’s Tale: My Father Bleeds History.
POPULAR D 810. J4 S643 1986

Spiegelman, Art. Maus II: A Survivor’s Tale: And Here My Troubles Began.
POPULAR D 804.3 .S66 1991

Tomine, Adrian. 32 Stories: The Complete Optic Nerve Mini-Comics.
POPULAR PN 6727 .T64 1995

Ware, Chris. The Best American Comics 2007.
PN 6720 .B47 2007

Watterson, Bill, and Ohio State University Cartoon Research Library. Calvin and Hobbes Sunday Papers: 1985-1995.
POPULAR PN 6728 .C34 W38516 2001

 

Helpful Search Terms

To find additional writing resources in the library catalog, try doing a subject search for one of the following terms:

  • Cartooning
  • Cartoonists
  • Comic books, strips, etc.
  • Comics
  • Graphic novels

 

Databases

To access the following databases from home, contact the library for a User ID and password.

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
Contains fine art and decorative art from prehistory through contemporary works. Includes high-resolution images of photos, paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings and watercolors, and more—plus audio-video and mixed media.

Harpweek (on-campus access only)
Searchable full-text electronic version of Harper's Weekly magazine from 1857 to 1912, including articles, illustrations, cartoons, and advertisements.


Websites

Cartoon Art Museum
“The Cartoon Art Museum is committed to fostering and promoting a greater appreciation of cartoon art. This it achieves through collecting, cataloging, preserving and displaying the finest representations of original cartoon art as well as providing innovative educational programs designed to enrich the cultural life of our community.”

Cartoonist Group
“In general, our goal is to make diverse and high quality humorous art available to users - on terms that make sense to the users - and to make the art available for multiple products and services.”

Comic Book Legal Defense Fund
A “non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of First Amendment rights for members of the comics community.”

Comic Book Resources
“The premier online comics magazine.” Includes daily comic book news, reviews, previews, commentary, and message boards.

Comics2Film
“A single place to find all the news, current and historic, about movies and TV shows that are based on comic books and comic strips.”

ComicsResearch.org
“ComicsResearch.org primarily covers book-length works about comic books and comic strips, from ‘fannish’ histories to academic monographs, providing detailed information and guidance on further research.”

Creating Comics Resource Site
Links to information about writing, illustrating, lettering, and publishing comics.

Museum of Black Superheroes
“Provides a variety of materials, including a brief overview of black super-heroes, profiles of major characters, an image gallery, links to articles about black super-heroes and black comic book creators, and a guide to additional Web resources (including links to current projects by African-American artists.” (from University at Buffalo Libraries website)

Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum
“The Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum is ... the largest and most comprehensive academic research facility documenting printed cartoon art.”

Sequential Tart
“1. a Web Zine about the comics industry, published by an eclectic band of women. 2. A publication dedicated to providing exclusive interviews, in-depth articles and news, while working toward raising the awareness of women’s influence in the comics industry and other realms.”

Toonopedia
“Information and observations about the toon world — a ‘toon’ being anything that's done in cartoon form, such as animated films, comic books, etc.”

 

Suggest a link or other resource to add to this guide

Resource Spotlight
 
Guggenheim


Guggenheim Archive
Free art ebooks!

Search the Library Catalog

Search the Web
Google