Personal tools
You are here: Home Subject Guides Resumes, Cover Letters, and Job Hunting
 

Resumes, Cover Letters, and Job Hunting

Document Actions


Books | Databases | Websites

 

Books

Books on job hunting and careers are primarily shelved in the "HF" section. All books listed below are located in the regular collection and may be checked out unless the call number begins with “REF.”

Bolles, Richard Nelson. What Color is Your Parachute? 2010.
HF 5382.7 .B64 2010

DeLuca, Matthew. Best Answers to the 201 Most Frequently Asked Interview Questions.
HF 5549.5 .I6D45 1997

Kador, John. 201 Best Questions to Ask on Your Interview.
HF 5549.5 .I6K3 2002

Kennedy, Joyce Lain. Job Interviews for Dummies.
HF 5549.5 .I6K393 2008

Silber, Lee. Self-Promotion for the Creative Person.
HF 5381 .S596 2001

Yate, Martin. Knock 'Em Dead Cover Letters.
HF 5383 .Y378 2008

Yate, Martin. Knock 'Em Dead Cover Resumes.
HF 5383 .Y38 2008

For a complete list of books in the library's new career resources collection, including books for specific majors and career fields, click here.

 

Helpful Search Terms

To find additional business writing resources in the library catalog, try doing a subject search for one of the following terms:

  • Employment
  • Resumes
  • Job hunting
  • Interviewing
  • Vocational guidance

 

Databases

To access the following databases from home, contact the library for a User ID and password.

Business Source Elite
Provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications.

Regional Business News
Provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

 

Websites

Artist Statements

Business Writing Guides

Job Advertisements

Legal Forms and Resources

Resumes and Cover Letters

 

Artist Statements

How to Write and Use an Artist's Statement (Molly Gordon)

Writing an Artist Statement (Nita Leland)

 

Business Writing Guides

Workplace Writers (The OWL at Purdue)

Write for Business blog

 

Job Advertisements

Animation World Network Career Connections

Artjob Online (registration required)

Arts Opportunities

CareerBuilder.com

CareerJet (job ad search engine)

Creative Hotlist

Designers Network

Museum Employment Resource Center

Monster.com

 

Legal Forms and Resources

Consigning Your Arts and Crafts

Sample Bill of Sale (Art-Support.com)

U.S. Copyright Office

Graphic Artists Guild Contract Monitor

How to Create a Freelancing Contract

Sample Freelance Contract (About.com)

Sample Website Development Contract (scottmanning.com)

 

Resumes and Cover Letters

Action Words to Describe Skills, Jobs, and Accomplishments (OWL at Purdue)

Artist Resume Guidelines (College Art Association)

How to Find a Job in a Jobless Recovery (includes tips on resumes, cover letters, networking, and interviewing; Challenger, Gray and Christmas, Inc.)

Key Action Words for Resume Development (Ripon College Career Development Office)

Key Words for Resume and Cover Letter Construction (Ferrum College Career Services Office)

Portfolio Development for Artists Working in All Disciplines (includes artist resumes and bios; Chicago Artists Resource)

Entry-Level Resume Guide (DePaul University Career Center)

Writing an Effective Resume (The Creative Group)

Sample Resumes for Media/Creative Arts (Susan Ireland)

Using Resume Keywords (Boston College Career Center)

 

Suggest a link or other resource to add to this guide

Resource Spotlight
 
Guggenheim


Guggenheim Archive
Free art ebooks!

Search the Library Catalog

Search the Web
Google